top of page



Derek Doward (founder)

 President/ CEO

The Bronx Basketball Hall of Fame

The BBHOF is a 501c3, created to recognize and celebrate the special achievements of the men and women players, coaches, and community leaders from the Bronx who impacted the Bronx through their hard work and dedication to Basketball and the Bronx community. We are also committed to the development of projects and initiatives that provide educational, cultural, and social opportunities for all the Bronx communities and those who visit.


Our most industrious project is to develop a physical place to house the Bronx Basketball Hall
of Fame Museum. The proposed multi-purpose facility will showcase the achievements of many of the greats from the Bronx, and provide a safe place for learning, community events and youth sports training. We are extremely excited about the prospects of creating another positive venue that can support our youth in the areas of nutrition, anti-bullying, mentoring, and youth basketball, while also attracting visitors who to learn more about the Bronx and its rich history.

Criteria for induction into The Bronx Basketball Hall of Fame are:

  • *Born and/or raised in The Bronx         

  • Coached at a Bronx educational or recreational institution

  • Attended school: high school and/or college

  • Made a lasting impact or contribution

to the overall Bronx basketball community

Inductees will be selected by the Board of Directors, Selection Committee.

Over the years, in communities across The Bronx, countless thousands of young basketball players found inspiration in these tremendous local heroes, role models and mentors. They also found inspiration in each other as teammates and opponents. friends and neighbors!

Hopefully this group will  transport you back to that time, to recognize and honor the impact they made on your life!

I would like to thank my own personal mentors and role models for making a positive impression on my journey, through basketball. They are the reason I created The Bronx Basketball Hall of Fame! Men like Floyd Layne,  Myles Dorch,  Nate Archibald,  Bill Hill, Ernie Brown, Vinnie Brewer, Ray Felix and Community Center PS 18, where it all started!

With your help, we look forward to creating ways to inspire current and future generations through this historical journey and with meaningful  community development projects! 


Derek Doward (founder)

President/ CEO

The Bronx Basketball Hall of Fame

Bronx Basketball Hall of Fame Story

Board of Directors

Derek Doward       -    President & CEO
Dr. Terry Lewis       -    
Tom McLaughlin    -     
Rudy Coombs        -    

Lawanda Greene  - 
Billy Campion        -   
William Robinson  -    
Brian Downey       -   
Stephen LeBow      -Secretary                 Julius Allen     -  

Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Myles Dorch
Butch Perkins
Eric Russell
Teddy Williams
Larry Griffin 
Eduardo Gomez
Earl Grey 
Chris Gallagher       

Mel Kram    

Joyce Taylor
Eric Harris 
Victor Kelly
Nat Harris
Marc Weinstein
Joe Riley
Joe Artime
Charles Rosen                                         

bottom of page